Search Here


How is rennet used in cheesemaking?

Traditionally, animal rennet is used when making cheese. The curd is cut into pieces, heated and manipulated until the whey is expelled, while bacteria grow to form lactic acid. After the process is complete, the curds are pressed into molds and aged until ready for sale.Three alternatives to animal rennet are used for vegetarians, microbial rennet, vegetable rennet or fermentation-produced chymosin. The latter is used in the production of nearly 90 percent of cheese made in the United States commercially, according to Formaggio Kitchen. Microbial rennet is taken from mold, and can cause bitterness in the cheese it yields. Vegetable rennet is harvested from plants that have similar coagulation chemicals to its animal counterpart; historically, cheese from Spain and Portugal use this method for production.Cheeses imported from Europe have strict restrictions concerning their specific ingredients and the process used to make them. Many such cheeses, including Parmigiano-Reggiano, Gruyere, Gorgonzola and Camembert, use animal rennet and are not vegetarian friendly, as outlined by The Huffington Post. Source:

Search Here

Related Information

*Disclaimer: All information on this site is intended for entertainment purposes. This content is not guaranteed and results may vary person to person.